Song of the Day

Probably the best beatmaker of his generation, forget Dr. Dre and even Timbaland, J Dilla was the real deal. He made real beats even just as instrumentals they leave a resonance thats thought provoking, clever and damn right catchy. Re-tracing my hip-hopness lately, I thought I’d give ‘Donuts’ another spin, I have to say I always found listening to instrumentals pretty daunting, especially as someone who gravitates towards good lyrics, Dilla’s beats never made me feel like it was a obligation to listen to them, possibly due to their very short running time. But I digress, ‘Stop’ kinda reminded me of those old days when I was like 14-15 during the summer hanging out late and listening to hip-hop, my they were halcyon days, ha!

Leave a Reply

