Things I’m Liking

Radiohead – The King of Limbs

I’ve always been a fan of Radiohead, controversially my favourite album of theirs is ‘Amnesiac’ so put that in pipe and smoke it, douchey Radiohead fans. Anyway, The King of Limbs was released on valentine’s day which made everyone very happy. It has taken me a few listens to actually absorb everything there is to offer, baring in ming there are only 8 tracks, it’s a lot less straight forward sound-wise than whats In Rainbows was, exploring territories that Flying Lotus and Four Tet seem more comfortable in. It’s not by all means the best thing they have ever done, but its a bigger step forward for the Radiohead evolution. And NO it doesn’t sound like ‘Kid A’

 

Adele – Someone Like You

I don’t really have the intention of listening to the whole album just yet, although the first two songs she has released I’ve quite liked. Now I am a sucker for sad, self-deprecating lyrics and this song was right up my street. I first saw her perform the song on Jools Holland and was blown away but the utter sincerity in the words and it seems like every time she sings it, she is reliving everything she felt when she wrote the song. It’s no wonder that the song rocketed to #1 on the singles charts there  hasn’t been a decent number one single for a long time. It seems like she is getting a lot of success too which is good.

 

Essex County by Jeff Lemire

Graphic novels and comics aren’t usually my cup of tea. The first time I ever read one was Dan Clowes’ ‘Ghost World’ and  just really knocked sideways. I sup pose, I read it at the right time, you know in your late teens when you’re going through a bit of an identity crisis so you read Edgar Allen Poe and Virginia Woolf and listen to The Cure…. just me then?. Anyway, I read the first installment of this a while back and its kinda recently been published in its entirety, It’s brilliantly written it reminded me of Richard Ford’s book Independence Day. Its b een released in both paperback and hardback, but the hardback one is such a nice little package, I went to Brighton recently and I saw it there, I would’ve bought but low funds…sad times. But yes, check it out your life will be infinitely better.

 

Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – Master and Everyone

Now, I know everyone loves ‘I See a Darkness’ and while it’s a brilliant record, I think ‘Master and Everyone’ is my favourite. Through my re-cataloging all my music I came across this again and realized that its been really neglected. There are just so many beautiful songs on it most notably is the stunningly sad ‘Wolves among Wolves’ (which incidentally made me love it even more when I saw Cat Power live and she sang it). I think maybe people unfamiliar with him might be put off with his laid back approach, especially those who enjoy their music a bit more edgier but you really won’t find anything as beautiful.


Leave a Reply

