Anticipation Station

Patrick Wolf – Lupercalia

Now, some might be a bit disappointed by his abrupt directional shift, but I mean people can’t be miserable forever just so fans will be happy plus I don’t really believe a musician has to be sad to make good music. Anyway, after a name change and several release dates later Patrick Wolf’s fifth record is finally being released. From the impressions the three official songs that have been released ‘Time of My Life‘, ‘The City‘ and ‘House‘ respectively I can safely say that I’m really looking forward to this and will be buying it when it finally hits the shops on 20th June. It’s not as distorted as Lycanthropy or as melancholy as The Bachelor but his new-found love is splattered all over the new songs they’re jubilant, extroverted and ideal for the summer weather. June 20th

Bon Iver – Bon Iver

OK, so it has been leaked already and I’ve had a little listen. Love it. But I’m definitely going to be buying it. I don’t really know what it is about Justin Vernon that gets everyone all giddy with excitment. I know for me when ‘For Emma, Forever Ago’ came out it just seemed to fit with the stuff that I was going through personally maybe thats why everyone loved that album. The self titled Bon Iver album still has that same ‘For Emma’ sensibility the song that was the teaser ‘Calgary’ is absolutely stunning. I guess this new album has more fuller sound rather than the skeletal sound of their debut. I am looking forward to purchasing this. It’ll definitely be a vinyl purchase the artwork is really pretty don’t you think? June 21st

Gillian Welch – The Harrow and the Harvest

This album is something that I’ve been waiting for, for along time eight years in fact. Though she does keeps herself busy with collaborating with friends such as David Rawlings, Emmylou Harris and Conor Oberst and a constant tour cycle the mysterious Gillian Welch hasn’t released a full length album since 2003s ‘Soul Journey‘ while good wasn’t as enjoyable as say ‘Hell Among the Yearlings‘ of my personal favourite ‘Time (The Revelator)‘. ‘The Harrow & the Harvest’ has been described as ‘southern Appalacian music’ which to be fair is pretty standard Welch territory. Some of the songs featured on the album have been played live over the last few years especially the beautiful ‘The Way it Will Be’. Cannot wait for this one. June 28th

Leave a Reply

