“The Greatest” returns

With all this rain about London town, it’s kind of nice for something good to happen. For me, it was in the guise of my favourite musician Cat Power releasing her ninth album entitled “Sun” – the news has definitely brightened up my days that’s for sure.

In September “Sun” will be released through Matador (one of the best labels, but that’s just me). The 11-track album will be Chan Marshall’s first album of original material in 6 years. She took some time out to work on her personal life, which everyone has the right to do. A lot of the songs are actually quite old songs like “Cherokee” and “Silent Machine” have been played live quite a few times over the years, there are a few songs that she mentioned would be on ‘Sun’ a couple of years ago like “Oh Time”, “Leopard” and “Mountaintops” but these songs might have had their titles changed.


I’m really looking forward to hearing the new stuff, especially has Marshall has produced the album herself and has played all the instruments which I’m sure is an exhausting feat. Critics and journalists who have heard some of the record are deeming it as her best work yet. Marshall has released a song from the album called “Ruin” which it’s great (you can hear it below) and I’ve had it on repeat for the past two days, it’s fucking brilliant. Welcome back Chan.

Album Tracklisting

1. Cherokee

2. Sun

3. Ruin

4. 3,6,9

5. Always on my Own

6. Real Life

7. Human Being

8. Manhattan

9. Silent Machine

10. Nothin’ But Time

11. Peace and Love

Bonus Tracks

12. Fire

13. Back in the Days (iTunes pre-order track)